Forum   |   Links    


Forum Home   Start New Topic   Edit Profile   Register  

12th Ak Attack

Show Profile  Michael Posted: 31 January 2017, 8:00 AM  
Nick Hann and Greg Thurlow have won the 12 Ak Attack, an 8hr MTB rogaine traditionally held in the Akatarawa Ranges north of Wellington. Each 2nd year it's held outside the Aka's, and this was one of those - the southern and western backdrop to the windy city. Teams came from Chch, Kaikoura and New Plymouth. A special rule allows selective travel on foot, and some teams didn't use bikes at all - such the winners of a 4hr section, Sam Walton and Dylan Queen.

The area spanned the south coast (hills up to 500m) to the 400m Mt Kaukau. As if the terrain wasn't rugged enough, teams were knocked off their bikes and sandblasted by high winds. Results are on




Ruffneck Productions © Ruffneck Productions