maptalk.co.nz Forum   |   Links    

Forum

Forum Home   Start New Topic   Edit Profile   Register  

LINZ data

Show Profile  Bryan Posted: 10 December 2010, 2:11 AM  
As part of my work as a geospatial consultant, I have the opportunity to discuss with LINZ the provision of their data to the user community.

Their brief:
'Our technical team is wanting input from the industry to discuss options for providing simplified GIS product layers to meet the needs of the general GIS user community. We are particularly interested in getting feedback on how simple or how complex these need to be, and there will be an opportunity to preview the planned cadastral layers, and review them'.

The meeting I will attend will be on 16th Dec and will deal specifically with cadastral data only. Topo and contour data may also be discussed but probably at a later meeting.

Do any of you have any comments and/or wish list I can provide to LINZ as feedback?

Show Profile  Michael Posted: 10 December 2010, 8:35 AM  
Occasionally I want to know property boundaries and owners to request permission, and I ask a mate who seems to have access to this. It would be somewhat helpful to be able to access this myself, but I don't know whether this is just lack of knowledge on my part or lack of "simplified GIS layers" on LINZ's part. This need ranks about 1 out of 10 though.

The advent of the Walking Access Commission's WAMS system for public land meets a related need, that of figuring out what might be public or not. Pretty incomplete around here so far but I guess its still in test. Meets a 2 out of 10 need.

Topo and contour data is the real need. Road (and track) centreline data and contours (10 out of 10). But we orienteers may want a different degree of generalisation from the raw data from other users? For years we have had Stewart Hyslop do this for us, now its a new ball game!

Show Profile  SimonB Posted: 10 December 2010, 12:22 PM